No. 9 Shijia Hutong

Back to Shijia Hutong once more, the place where it all begun last year, the big adventure. After having written about why I wouldn't, and why I shouldn't, go back to Beijing, I did feel a bit embarrassed about going back anyway. But now when I'm here, the doubts I had on the matter has cleared away. It's good to be back. Not because everything is so insanely funny in Beijing, it's not even because I feel at home in Beijing. It's because I was anxious and restless when I left. I left because I was anxious and restless. I didn't leave for my own sake, I didn't leave because I wanted to, I left because I was too uncomfortable. I have promised myself to never leave a place, or go to a place, if I don't do it solely for my own sake. So I went back because I wanted to. Maybe I'm just trying to prove something to myself. The important thing is that I'm here, and I can once more feel that the ground of Beijing is solid under my feets. I've regained the peace of mind I'd lost.

I've now been in China for 32 days. I've travelled back and forth and seen four cities (three of them during eleven days, one of them twice). Summer break is coming to an end. I don't think I've ever had so much things going on during one summer. I've been homeless, hopeless, exited, happy, frustrated, satisfied, confused, scared, daring and bold. Most of all, no matter what state I've presently been in, feeling isolated and wounerable or adventurous and unstopable, I've been very sure of that what I'm doing is the thing I want to do. China is right for me. 32 days and I've only just begun. (And when the Chinese people stare at me, I sometimes stare back and think: "You better get used to it pal, 'cause this laowai ain't going nowhere.")

And, sending a comforting word and a welcome to my classmates from SU, who will drop in one by one during the next week or two, it may feel like shit in the beginning, but don't panic, it'll get better. (I'm so glad that this isn't my first experience of China, I would totally have freaked out many times by now. Like I did last year. For three days. Of course, after five days, I didn't want to leave.)



Alex

(Click on "Kommentarer" below to leave a comment.)

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback