Only in China

So. I met this Australian guy on a classmates house warming party last week, and he told me a story. A story about how wrong things can go sometimes, when you don't really have a firm grasp of the cultural differences in a new country.


A friends of his, and the friends girlfriend, had come to China and was planning to stay here for quite a while, hence they decided to get a dog. So they went down to the market, where they had all these cute dogs in cages. They were standing there for a couple of minutes, trying to decide which one they wanted, and finally picked the absolutely cutest one they could find. "This one!", they said and pointed at it. "We want this one!"

So the owner picked up the dog and took it away. The two foreigners figured that, hey, maybe he'll just put a collar on it or something. And then, the owner came back and handed them a bag of meat. (And the audience goes "Noooo!" and "Awwww!" and we all feel a bit bad about it.)

Only in China baby.

However, I met this Chinese guy when I went down to my old hostel in Wuhan a couple of days ago. We were talking a bit, his English was much much better than my Chinese, so conversation went pretty smooth. And I told him this story, about how they went to the market to buy a pet, and picked the cutest little doggie they found, and then was handed this bag of meat.

He went quiet, and then looked at me, and, completely confused asked me: "But.... why did they pick the cutest one? That doesn't matter for the taste."

What do you reply to that?



Alex

(Click on "Kommentarer" below to leave a comment.)


Kommentarer
Postat av: Tjockis och Stinky

Uuuh! Min nyss ätna frukost ligger inte så stadigt i magen längre.. Det där måsta vara hemskt äckligt att vara med om. Jag menar, om man VILL äta hund och är förberedd på att äta hund så visst, absolut. Inga konstigheter. Men att välja ett husdjur och.. ja..

2006-10-05 @ 09:51:25
Postat av: madelene

HA HA HA HA HA!!!

2006-10-10 @ 14:13:51
Postat av: Helle

Gud så makabert roligt!

2006-10-14 @ 11:06:25
Postat av: Mamma

Himla äckligt roligt??? Men jag kan inte låta bli att tänka på Lurvas om du sett ut honom i Kina och fått honom i en köttig påse öäk!!!

2006-11-01 @ 11:38:07
Postat av: Johan S

eh.. hehe... typ på nåt' vis kul men ändå hemskt.

Postat av: Pappa

Hej Alexandra. Vad sägs om en friterad råtta i stället? Nej, fy vad hemskt. Hoppas att allt är bra med Dig. Jag har just tillfrisknat från den värsta förkylning jag varit med om. Sén jag hade Asiaten när jag var liten. Slutet på 50-talet.
Vi har inte mycket till vinter här i Svedala. Det har varit så varmt att man kunnat gå i skogen och plocka svamp i början av December. Men om en vacka har de sagt att vi kommer att få vintergrader, men snö kan de inte lova. Så det blir väl en grön jul i år igen. Jag skall tillbringa en tidig julafton hemma hos Ulrika tillsammans med Fredrik, Stella och Asteid. På själva julafton åker jag till Helen. De små tillskotten i familjen är hur fina och gulliga som helst. Riktigt kul tycker jag. Jag önskar att jag kunde komma och hälsa på Dig i Kina. Vi får väl se hur det blir med den saken.
Jättemånga kramar till Dig. Du ser välmående ut på fotot. Astrid hälsar också med stor kram och en liten puss. Från mig får Du en stor puss.. Pappa

2006-12-05 @ 14:29:56

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback