When I grow up...


I am a university rat. One of them who don't know how real life works, because I have spend 3/4 of my life studying. Sure, I had an extra job, working weekends and part-time during summer, but that hardly makes me qualified for any other kind of jobs except those including cash registers and cranky customers.

The question "What do you want to be when you grow up?", have been a re-appearing thing since kindergarden. When I was a little kid, I wanted to be come an artist, a rugby-player or a pilot. Then I wanted to be a tattooist, a marine geologist or a university teacher. Then I started studying Chinese, because that was what I wanted to do, but I had no idea what to do with it.

And now I do know what I want to be when I grow up. Something that gives me use of my Chinese, something that feels important, and additionally something that includes writing, which is my main passion in life. Journalism.

So in order to put my plan in action, I have realized that I need a job, something press-related. Having no experience, no qualifications and no contacts, made me decide to find a job,  one that will probalby not be very interesting, but at least something to put on a resume. So that I later can apply for a journalism program (and actually be accepted) or find another job getting me closer to the real thing. In other words, I'm looking for a job that can give me some qualification.

And except for that, I want to do it in Hong Kong. There have been two places that I have been to, where I felt that this, this is where I want to be. One is Beijing, but at the moment I would prefer to not stay in mainland China after this summer, and the other one is Hong Kong. It was love at first sight, it was... If I can't live here for a while my life will not be as it should be. Hong Kong is the next step. Hong Kong is neccessary.

But, as I said, I'm a school rat, and I don't know how real life works. I don't know how to start looking for a real job, how to apply for a job, how to be so convincing that I can get a job that will be valuable for me, even though I have no experience. All I have is a pretty-good-but-not-even-close-to-fluent English, and a crappy Chinese. But it must work, because it is neccessary.

Of course, the idea of a long-term internship has crossed my mind, but I can't survive in a city like Hong Kong without an income, and to find the right internship that would include a salary is too much to hope for. The idea is not abandonned though, it is just not my main scheme.

What I'm doing now is to collect tips from my friends. Everything from Mads telling me: "I heard the (small Swedish) magazine Gringo is looking for writers, you should contact them", to California telling me: "Download articles from the net and study their style", or suggestions of different companies that might be able to give me the kind of job I need, everything gets written down in a book, more closely examinated, considered and duely followed. (Moreover, I sometimes write down some sentences that one or another person has told me to encourage me in my pursuit. It's like a kind of emergency pep-talk collection, something I can take a look at when everything feels too difficult and hopeless.)

So. I want a press-related job in Hong Kong, starting this summer/fall, so that I can start doing what I want to do when I grow up. Give me a tip.



/Alex

(Click on "Kommentarer" below to leave a comment.)

Kommentarer
Postat av: Helle

Nu vill Olivia skriva något till dig:
wrfghhjnmmklööouytdsazxcvbnhjjkkk,m,,,dfgb bbbbjhhhhrdddddddddduyikoäpåoiiiioooooooooooooooooooooooliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiivia

Du vet förresten att jag arbetar med journalister? En journalistutbildning vore väl inte helt fel, eller? Kanske poppius har någon distans-kurs? Fast det kostar pengar förstås...

Keep on trying!
Kram,
Syrran

2007-02-12 @ 20:35:46
Postat av: Olivia

äääåpölokiuujhhyygtttrrdeewwqqazxcvbn

2007-02-12 @ 20:36:42

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback