Hong Kong

So I packed some things in my bag and fled from Wuhan for a week. Collected some more stamps in the passport as I entered Hong Kong yesterday morning.

Me and my two companions, that is: Boyscout Chris and Professional traveller Polly, felt somewhat like a bunch of framers when we walked around in the streets yesterday, just staring amazed at everything. (It even got to the point when I, without the slightest trace of sarcasm, exlaimed: "It's so... fashionable!" What do you think of that huh?)  This is so different form Wuhan as it could possibly get. It's so different from China as it could possibly get. The shock to come here was greater than when I had just arrived to Beijing from Stockholm.

Everything is so clean, there is even toilet paper in the public toilets! People are better looking and better dressed, and somehow the selfesteem of the Cantonese seems bigger than that of the Chinese. There are sometimes more foreigners than Cantonese in the streets, and everywhere there are signs and information written in English. Even the old ladies working in small restaurants talk English here!

And the food! Oh my good the food! We find everything here! Food from every corner of the worl, there is even decent coffee! And there are Starbucks and 7elevens in every corner, but after four months in the undedeveloped city/overgrown village that is Wuhan, I'm actually glad to see it! I'm completely confused by all of it.  And, friends, family, I love it.

I will write a more thorough report over my adventures later, but for now it's time to quit.
I hope you all had a great New Year!



/Alex

Kommentarer
Postat av: Fredrik

Tjena mors bena i kors :P

jahapp nu är det juh så här att det bara är 41 dagar kvar tills jag och mor åker och jaa jag hoppas det blir en kul resa ..

saknar dig puss o kram

2007-01-02 @ 00:39:52
Postat av: Helle

Låter härligt! Fick ni chans att prata politik med några HongKongbor? Blev det så illa som de trodde, när HK återgick till Kina från GB?

Massor av pussar från syrran!

2007-01-07 @ 18:24:37

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback